This weekend in Los Angeles, the primary cast of the popular Netflix Korean series Squid Game will attend the Emmy Awards.

Actors Lee Jung-jae (who played Seong Gi-hun), Park Hae-soo (Cho Sang-woo), and O Yeong-su (Oh Il-nam, Player 1) will fly out of Seoul to Los Angeles for the awards event on September 8, 9, and 10, respectively, according to South Korean news agency Yonhap News Agency.

According to her management, actress Jung Ho-yeon (Kang Sae-byeok) will fly immediately to Los Angeles from an undisclosed nation where she is presently staying for work.

At the 74th Emmy Awards, which will be held at the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles, the nine-episode Netflix hit was nominated in six categories: Best Drama Series, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor (for Lee Jung-jae), Best Supporting Actor (for O Yeong-su and Park Hae-soo), as well as Best Supporting Actress (for Jung Ho-yeon).

In his 58-year career, the 77-year-old O will make history by attending the forthcoming Emmys, which will be his first awards show abroad.

The South Korean actor previously won the Best TV Supporting Actor prize for his performance in Squid Game at the Golden Globes in January, although he did not physically attend the event.

O expressed his feelings on the nomination in a statement to Yonhap News Agency, saying: “I find it important that we have garnered nominations for the famous worldwide awards.

Since I previously won, I hope [Park] will receive an award, but I also believe it won’t be horrible if I do.

Lee Yoo-mi, the rising star of Squid Game, became the first Korean actor to win the Outstanding Guest Actress prize at the 74th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards for her portrayal as Ji-yeong.

Squid Game also won three additional honors at this year’s Creative Arts Emmys, including Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Single Episode, Outstanding Stunt Performance, and Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Contemporary Program. Lee was the only other winner at the ceremony .


Comments are closed.